<
Five Weird Habits
2006-01-11 - 4:34 p.m.

Although I've already put up an entry today, I knew that if I didn't respond to Jen now, days would go by and I'd let the tag slip away. That doesn't qualify as a weird habit, I suppose, but it's a habit nonetheless.

So...without further ado, here's my answer!

The first player of this game starts with the topic �five weird habits of yourself,� and people who get tagged need to write an entry about their five weird habits as well as state this rule clearly. In the end, you need to choose the next five people to be tagged and link to their web journals. Don�t forget to leave a comment in their blog or journal that says �You have been tagged� (assuming they take comments) and tell them to read yours.

Okay then. So...five weird habits of mine.

1. I talk to inanimate objects. A lot. Not just like, "Why the hell won't you open?!" to the lid that is essentially glued onto the honey jar, either, although I do that kind of talking, too. When I am finished with something and am going to throw it out, like a used up razor blade or a container of deoderant or something like that, I thank it before I throw it in the trash for being a good razor or stick of deoderant or whatever it was. Or, I explain to it why I'm throwing it out. "I liked the smell of you, shaving cream, but I can no longer rely on you to come out of your can, so I'm sorry but you're going to have to go." Perhaps this rule mostly applies to personal hygiene products.

2. I sleep naked except for my socks, which I keep on year-round except in the hottest of hot summer nights. My feet get cold while the rest of me radiates heat like there's no tomorrow. It's a peculiar imbalance that has brought me much ridicule over the years from those with whom I've shared a bed.

3. When I put Will's alphabet blocks back in their box (and they *always* have to go back into the box before they get put away) I need to put them in alphabetical order. The extra ABCDEF go at the end, turned to the picture drawing on each block instead of the letter, but still in alphabetical order. That way, the colors in the columns still line up. If someone else puts them away in any other order, I have to take them out and "fix" them.

4. I am almost incapable of mailing things. Our Christmas cards, in their envelopes and all addressed, are still sitting on my desk. All I have to do is put them in a mailbox. With them are the thank you notes from Will's birthday. In November. Also written, enveloped, and addressed. This is not a new problem for me. Mailing has been an issue my whole life. This is why I love online billpay.

5. When I get nervous while talking to people, I hold onto my earlobe. I did this so much when my mom and I were in Spain that she jokingly asked if there was a Spanish button behind my ear that I needed to press to speak the language. It's a totally unconscious habit and I only become aware of it if someone else points it out to me.



I tag Gump, Jenn, Dan, Craige, and Mimi.

---------------------------------------------

4 comments so far |

< Delurking Week! | Weird, part 2 >


Jeni
newest
older
extra space
profile
visitors:
Contact
e-mail: jenistarATgmail.com
|
leave me a note

Get Notified

Powered by NotifyList.com

Links

diaryland