<
We like houseguests
2005-05-16 - 2:16 p.m.

Ah, again. Momentary but blissfull quiet. You readers will be under the mistaken impression that I get a lot of quiet time around here. Au contraire--I just use the little bit I have to type in the little white box.

The party was a big sucess, which makes me happy. It's a strange thing, hosting a party for someone else in your house. I mean--the guest list was made up by Erica, but the party was planned by us. It was almost like we were the catering staff. My house was full of people I didn't know, milling about and eating the food we'd worked so hard on all week, sitting in our chairs and discussing mutual histories we know nothing about. Carla was here for a bit. We snuck out to the house next door, which is FSBO, and which I wish could have been a perfect house for them. Alas, it wasn't meant to be. Too small. Don't worry, Carla--we'll keep trying! I'll get you in my neighborhood yet!

The whole entourage, visitors and my mom alike, headed to Crescent Ridge for a little frozen dairy dessert before Mitch and Annie get back on a plain to Wisconsin. Erica, Bailey, and Whitney are here for one more night. Our living room is one giant aerobed right now. Will thinks it's a playground, built just for him. No one seems to be trying to disabuse him of the notion.

He and I exited the premises for a bit this morning, heading to his pediatrician office for his 18-month checkup. All gold stars for my boy! He weighed in at 23 pounds, 9 ounces (still on the little side of normal, but perfectly fine according to Dr. C.), and measured, at 32 inches, a full two inches taller than he did three months ago! No wonder the pants don't cover his calves! He was in full-on Silly Will mode, putting on quite a show for Dr. C., showing off his belly, demonstrating where he keeps his boogers (by touching his nose when asked where his boogers are), blowing raspberries, hiding my purse in the cabinet under the exam table. Dr. C. watched him and laughed. "He's a happy, busy goofball! You must not get much done in the hours he's awake." It's good to have a doctor I not only trust implicitly, but who also UNDERSTANDS that being a mom, especially to a kid as busy and on-the-go as Will, is a full-time job in itself. He can come to dinner in my less-than-100% clean home any time.

Still working on the FlyLady thing. I am happy to say that my sink has been clean when I go to bed every single night since the beginning of March. And it does make a huge difference. Now I just need to work on the rest of those good habits.

Babysteps, right? That's what she advocates. And I am very thankful for that!

Off to do yet another load of laundry and several (seems like) thousand more dishes. Houseguests are a wonderful thing--especially THESE houseguests--but they do put a crimp in the routine!

---------------------------------------------

3 comments so far |

< - | Walls and Passion Parties >


Jeni
newest
older
extra space
profile
visitors:
Contact
e-mail: jenistarATgmail.com
|
leave me a note

Get Notified

Powered by NotifyList.com

Links

diaryland