<
"Where, exactly, do you put that?"
2005-05-20 - 8:11 a.m.

Kirk is working from home today, so this is likely to be my only computer opportunity.

Last night was...just about as surreal as I expected. Another friend of Carla's was there by herself. It was the first time we'd met. Carla offered her a drink, and she accepted a glass of wine, saying, "If I'm going to buy sex toys with strangers, I need some wine." I laughed and replied, "I thought if I was going to buy sex toys with people I KNOW, I need some wine."

The wine was a good idea.

At one point, I really lost it, laughing. I told Carla and Andi that never in our children's choir elementary school days did I think that some day we'd be in Carla's living room discussing the merits of a cock ring. And that just about sums up the evening right there. SUffice it to say that I now know more about my friends than I ever expected I'd know.

On the very cool side of the evening, I was once again reminded that I really like Carla's husband. They've been married for a long time (eight years, Carla?), but it took us a lot of that to get to know each other. In the beginning, I thought he didn't like me. But last night, as he pulled out the TiVo remote to show me a scene from White Chicks that he thought I'd appreciate, and we had a full conversation about the movie Shaft in which we both continually referred to it as Shaq but knew exactly what we were talking about, I realized that he has gone from being Carla's Husband Pete to My Friend Pete, and that is a very good thing.

In other completely unrelated news, Will has learned how to say "more" in sign language, and is now using the sign unbidden when he wants more of something. Now, if we can just get him to grasp "all done" maybe he'll stop throwing things on the floor...

Off to start my day. It's time to relinquish the computer!

---------------------------------------------

0 comments so far |

< Walls and Passion Parties | CD's volume one >


Jeni
newest
older
extra space
profile
visitors:
Contact
e-mail: jenistarATgmail.com
|
leave me a note

Get Notified

Powered by NotifyList.com

Links

diaryland