<
Round peg, round hole
2018-10-24 - 8:47 a.m.

I’ve been thinking a lot about how to best explain what feels so wrong about the proposed changes 45 is considering in regard to gender classification. So far, this is the best I can come up with.

I’m one of those people to whom cilantro tastes like soap. I didn’t know for a long time that there was actually a genetic reason behind my cilantro distaste. In fact, the world didn’t know until a few years ago that there was a biological reason behind it.

It doesn’t affect the other people around me, my dislike for cilantro. I don’t refuse to eat in places that use it in certain dishes. I don’t refuse to sit at a table with people eating cilantro. I just don’t eat cilantro.

Now, let’s say for a ridiculous moment that our government decides that there is no such thing as a class of people for whom cilantro tastes like soap. That whatever our personal preferences might be in the privacy of our own home is fine, but as far as the government is concerned, there is no such thing.

Ridiculous, right?

Now, if genetics and biology can have that big an effect on something as random and specific as cilantro tasting like soap, how can we not accept that it would have a huge affect on something as common and complex as sexuality?

And how is it okay for the government to ignore that and limit it for someone?

Like my dislike for cilantro, my gender identity doesn’t have any effect on the people around me.

I’m lucky in that respect. I am physicallly female, genetically female, psychologically female, with a sexual preference for men and a proclivity toward monogamy.

Lucky in that I fit into that round hole our society has long said is the “right” way to be

But just because *I* fit there doesn’t mean it’s okay for me to just turn a blind eye toward those that don’t.

I am proud to identify as an ally. I am not gay, bisexual, transgender, pansexual, intersex, or asexual. I just support the crazy idea that everyone should have equal rights.

---------------------------------------------

0 comments so far |

< Voting is my Superpower | Red faced >


Jeni
newest
older
extra space
profile
visitors:
Contact
e-mail: jenistarATgmail.com
|
leave me a note

Get Notified

Powered by NotifyList.com

Links

diaryland