<
Valentines and baby rage
2007-02-11 - 7:46 a.m.

Well, Will survived through returning to school on Thursday, although one of his teachers tells me that he has a "problem with the little ones," specifically little Alex. Alex is about 14 months old and is a very quiet little guy. Will has never been quiet. Seriously. Since he realized noise could come out of his mouth under his control, there hasn't been a non-sleeping moment of peace in these parts. So he talks to Alex, and when Alex doesn't answer him, he gets mad. It's really hard to reason with a three-year-old--"Dude--Alex doesn't answer you BECAUSE HE'S A BABY!!!! He's not ignoring you; he just CAN'T TALK YET!!!!" Ah well...Eventually, he'll understand, I'm sure.

In the meantime, I'm amusing myself by teaching him to sing Jungle Love by The Time. "My jungle love--oh e oh e oh--girl, I wanna know ya, know ya!" He especially likes the oh e oh e oh part.

We had a valentine party here on Friday morning. Will invited Ella and his cousin Nolan over (and by invited I mean he sat next to me on the couch while I wrote out the invitations and then helped me drop them in the mail box) for a morning of Play Doh and cupcake decorating. No, we didn't decorate the cupcakes with Play Doh. At least, not on purpose. That part of the day was fun. I should know not to push my luck with him. Instead, after two hours in the kitchen, we adjourned to the living room where the mommies had some grownup conversation and we perhaps paid a bit less attention to the kids than we should have, because suddenly there was a huge cry from the tunnel on the floor where Will and Nolan had both been trying to be the leader, and suddenly Nolan was in front of me, crying, and saying that Will had tried to bite him.

I don't know what happened in the tunnel. I do know that Kristy (Nolan's mom) had been telling us a story about biting at preschool a few minutes before that, and I also know that Will has HUGE ears that pick up whatever happens around him, like it or not. I don't know if his mouth actually made contact with Nolan's shoulder, or if he said, "I'm going to bite you!" and that was that--but it was the beginning of a downhill slope. Shortly after that lovely scene, Carla and Ella headed for the hills (smart girls), and Kristy started to pack Nolan up. The boys went back to playing together quite nicely, so we didn't worry when they ran from the kitchen to the living room. Again, suddenly, the cries rose up. This time, though, I got to the living room to find Nolan crouched in the corner of the couch, with Will standing next to him, one foot on Nolan's leg, banging Nolan's head with one of his toys. When I pulled him off and said, "WHAT ARE YOU DOING?!?!?!" he answered quite calmly. "I'm boinging Nolan on the head."

That was pretty much the end of the party.

The toy in question is now living on my closet shelf. That was an easy fix.

Not so easy is dealing with this uncontrolled baby rage that seems to be spewing from my son.

What does he possibly have to be so rageful about? Where does it come from? And how the hell do we fix it?

Any suggestions are happily welcomed.

---------------------------------------------

0 comments so far |

< February already? | Five Books >


Jeni
newest
older
extra space
profile
visitors:
Contact
e-mail: jenistarATgmail.com
|
leave me a note

Get Notified

Powered by NotifyList.com

Links

diaryland