<
grrrrrrrrrrr (ownup)
2005-09-14 - 4:36 p.m.

Why does being a responsible adult need to suck so very much?

Owning up to one's own shortcomings and then taking steps to improve your situation is so not fun.

And yet...There is something very reassuring about being able to identify a(n extremely) weak point in one's own character and then having the cojones and the wherewithall to make it better.

I know I'm sounding awfully mysterious. This is maybe one part of myself I'm not quite ready to put up here for all to see. I just wanted to express my extreme animosity at the process.

In other news, I called Comc@st today to make HBO go away. My $5/month summer deal is over as of this week, and we simply cannot justify the additional $15 it's gonna cost us each month for Kirk to watch the Sexperts (or whatever clever name they've given themselves) fix random British sex lives.

The deal was that when Six Feet Under was over, so was the HBO access.

Again--back to the responsible adult thing...

Not that we should be watching nearly as much TV as we do. It gets in the way of so many other things. I'm choosing to shut it off more often than not. Except on Tuesday nights from 8-9, because I love me some Gilmore Girls.

Didja see Luke say yes? Even though I know it's a bad idea, and even though I know there will be much drama and conflict around the prospect of the wedding, and even though I have a teensy little gigantic fear that there won't be a wedding at all, it was still ridiculously wide smile-inducing to hear him cut her off at the pass to say yes.

Yes, I do talk about these people like I know them. Sad, isn't it?

Will is adding words to his vocabulary pretty much daily at this point. Today, he added "puppy." This is different from "doggy." They're all doggies. Just the blue doggy is a puppy. Not quite sure why that is, but he's made some distinction.

In his repertoire these days: (in no particular order except that in which my brain recalls them, and by no means a complete list because my brain is somewhat fried)

apple
ball
doggy
puppy
car
happy
baby
hi
a-hoo (backhoe)
bubble
pop (as in what the bubble does)
pop (as in lollipop)
mommy
daddy
nana
gunga (uncle jay)
mamie (auntie amy)
manny (as in ramirez--used for all the red sox interchangeably)
yonny (as in johnny. as in damon. see manny.)
spoon
no
uh oh
a
b
c
d
e
f
eight
moon
moo
baa
eieio (as in 'old macdonald had a farm)
bloon (balloon)
noni (tony)
da (yes)
uh uh
okay

He'll be writing poetry any day now...


---------------------------------------------

1 comments so far |

< The Wall That Heals | To the Depot of Homes... >


Jeni
newest
older
extra space
profile
visitors:
Contact
e-mail: jenistarATgmail.com
|
leave me a note

Get Notified

Powered by NotifyList.com

Links

diaryland