<
Will thinks he's famous
2006-05-12 - 4:15 p.m.

will tractor closeup

Will and I sit in his rocking chair and read stories each day before he goes down for his nap. Rifling through his books the other day, he pulled one out and handed it to me. "Read the Will book, Mommy," he said as he climbed back into my lap.

This is the photo on the front of the book he handed to me.


My son thinks he somehow ended up on a Hanna Anderson book. I entirely see his point.



We're supposed to get in the car and drive two hours north to the New Hampshire Sheep and Wool Festival tomorrow. Isn't that how everyone wants to spend their Mother's Day weekend? The prospect of hand spun, hand dyed wool that I might just someday be able to turn into some sort of knitted thing is hard to resist, although four hours in the car in what is being touted as monsoon-like weather makes staying home and watching the Mother's Day Movie Marathon on ABC Family just as enticing.



Carol's doctor has started making preparations for her stem cell transplant. In the meantime, we've started making preparations for Cocktails for Carol, our best effort in helping to defray some of the giant bills that are piling up in her house. CfC will be an evening of hors d'oeuvres and silent auction items, all of the proceeds from which will go into the Friends of Carol fund.

Many thanks to Kathy, who has already promised a set of her kick-ass handmade jewelry for our silent auction. If you can't come and bid on our auction piece, you should go buy lots of stuff from her site. The auction will also include, because I am crazy, a hand-knit shawl, much like the one I made for Carol. That is, assuming I can finish another one before June 21st.

We're also doing a "random prize drawing" (because legally we can't have a "raffle") for three fabulous baseball prizes--a pair of August Sox/Yankees tickets, an autographed Ted Williams ball, and an autographed Joe DiMaggio ball. Tickets are a "suggested donation" of $1 each, 12 for $10. Interested? Email me at jenistarATgmail.com if you want in on the drawing.



In other news, I finally fixed the Notify List link to the left. If you'd like to know when the site is updated, feel free to add your email to the list. Messages are short, I promise. And now, I'm off to type. Happy Mother's Day weekend!

---------------------------------------------

0 comments so far |

< Good Carol News! | Thanks Anthony >


Jeni
newest
older
extra space
profile
visitors:
Contact
e-mail: jenistarATgmail.com
|
leave me a note

Get Notified

Powered by NotifyList.com

Links

diaryland